Skip to content
Expat Money

Amex Flying Blue Silver Card vs N26 Mastercard

Two credit cards for expats in the Netherlands, figure by figure.

N26 Mastercard is the stronger pick for most expats.

  • Monthly fee: €0 vs €6.25/mo
  • Foreign transaction fee: 1.70% vs 2.50%
Amex Flying Blue Silver Card and N26 Mastercard compared. The better value in each row is marked.
Figure
Monthly fee€6.25/mo€0 (better)
Foreign transaction fee2.50%1.70% (better)
Card networkamexmastercard
Travel insuranceIncluded (better)Not included
Apple PaySupportedSupported
Card typeCharge cardDebit card
Minimum income€30,000 gross a yearNot stated by the issuer
BKR checked when you applyYesNot stated
Card registered at BKRNoNot stated
Rate checkVerified 18 October 2026Not yet verified

Bold marks the better value in a row. Figures are checked daily against provider sources; each product page shows when its figures were last confirmed.

Amex Flying Blue Silver Card

What we like

  • 15 XP points toward status
  • Lower income requirement

What to consider

  • Lower earning rate (0.8 miles/€1)
  • 2.5% foreign transaction fee
  • Minimal travel benefits
  • Limited Amex acceptance

N26 Mastercard

What we like

  • No annual fee
  • No fees in eurozone
  • Excellent mobile app
  • Instant notifications
  • Free ATM withdrawals (limited)

What to consider

  • Debit card, not true credit
  • ATM withdrawal limits on free tier
  • 1.7% fee outside eurozone
  • No rewards program

Questions

Is Amex Flying Blue Silver Card or N26 Mastercard better for expats in the Netherlands?
N26 Mastercard is the stronger all-round pick for most expats. Monthly fee: €0 vs €6.25/mo
Which card has lower fees abroad, Amex Flying Blue Silver Card or N26 Mastercard?
N26 Mastercard is cheaper abroad, with a 1.70% foreign transaction fee.
Do Amex Flying Blue Silver Card and N26 Mastercard check or register you at BKR?
Amex Flying Blue Silver Card: BKR is checked when you apply; the card is not registered at BKR. N26 Mastercard: The issuer doesn’t say whether it checks BKR; it doesn’t say whether the card is registered.