Amex Platinum Card vs Revolut Card
Two credit cards for expats in the Netherlands, figure by figure.
Revolut Card is the stronger pick for most expats.
- Monthly fee: €0 vs €75.00/mo
- Foreign transaction fee: None vs 2.50%
| Figure | ||
|---|---|---|
| Monthly fee | €75.00/mo | €0 (better) |
| Foreign transaction fee | 2.50% | None (better) |
| Card network | amex | visa |
| Travel insurance | Included (better) | Not included |
| Apple Pay | Supported | Supported |
| Card type | Charge card | Debit card |
| Minimum income | €30,000 gross a year | Not stated by the issuer |
| BKR checked when you apply | Yes | Not stated |
| Card registered at BKR | No | Not stated |
| Rate check | Verified 18 October 2026 | Verified 18 October 2026 |
Bold marks the better value in a row. Figures are checked daily against provider sources; each product page shows when its figures were last confirmed.
Amex Platinum Card
What we like
- Unlimited Priority Pass lounge access + 1 guest
- Free Privium Plus membership (Schiphol fast-track)
- €300/year dining credit at 100+ restaurants
- Centurion Lounge access (Schiphol opening 2026)
What to consider
- Very high fee (€780/year)
- 2.5% foreign transaction fee
- Not accepted everywhere in Netherlands
- Requires €36,000 gross annual income
Revolut Card
What we like
- No annual fee (Standard plan)
- Interbank exchange rates
- Multi-currency accounts
- Excellent travel features
- €20 welcome bonus
What to consider
- Not a true credit card
- Exchange limits on free tier
- 2% markup on weekends
- Customer support can be slow
Questions
Is Amex Platinum Card or Revolut Card better for expats in the Netherlands?
Revolut Card is the stronger all-round pick for most expats. Monthly fee: €0 vs €75.00/mo
Which card has lower fees abroad, Amex Platinum Card or Revolut Card?
Revolut Card is cheaper abroad, with a 0% foreign transaction fee.
Do Amex Platinum Card and Revolut Card check or register you at BKR?
Amex Platinum Card: BKR is checked when you apply; the card is not registered at BKR. Revolut Card: The issuer doesn’t say whether it checks BKR; it doesn’t say whether the card is registered.
