ICS Visa World Card Gold vs N26 Mastercard
Two credit cards for expats in the Netherlands, figure by figure.
ICS Visa World Card Gold is the stronger pick for most expats.
- Travel insurance: Included vs Not included
| Figure | ||
|---|---|---|
| Monthly fee | €4.96/mo | €0 (better) |
| Foreign transaction fee | 2.00% | 1.70% (better) |
| Card network | visa | mastercard |
| Travel insurance | Included (better) | Not included |
| Apple Pay | Supported | Supported |
| Card type | Charge card | Debit card |
| Minimum income | €1,500 net a month | Not stated by the issuer |
| BKR checked when you apply | Yes | Not stated |
| Card registered at BKR | No | Not stated |
| Rate check | Verified 19 October 2026 | Not yet verified |
Bold marks the better value in a row. Figures are checked daily against provider sources; each product page shows when its figures were last confirmed.
ICS Visa World Card Gold
What we like
- 365-day purchase protection
- Travel insurance included
- Interest on positive balance (bonus 0.5% until May 2026)
- Higher coverage limits
What to consider
- 2% foreign transaction fee
- Higher annual fee than basic card
- Same credit limit as basic card
N26 Mastercard
What we like
- No annual fee
- No fees in eurozone
- Excellent mobile app
- Instant notifications
- Free ATM withdrawals (limited)
What to consider
- Debit card, not true credit
- ATM withdrawal limits on free tier
- 1.7% fee outside eurozone
- No rewards program
Questions
Is ICS Visa World Card Gold or N26 Mastercard better for expats in the Netherlands?
ICS Visa World Card Gold is the stronger all-round pick for most expats. Travel insurance: Included vs Not included
Which card has lower fees abroad, ICS Visa World Card Gold or N26 Mastercard?
N26 Mastercard is cheaper abroad, with a 1.70% foreign transaction fee.
Do ICS Visa World Card Gold and N26 Mastercard check or register you at BKR?
ICS Visa World Card Gold: BKR is checked when you apply; the card is not registered at BKR. N26 Mastercard: The issuer doesn’t say whether it checks BKR; it doesn’t say whether the card is registered.

