Skip to content
Expat Money

ICS MasterCard Classic vs N26 Mastercard

Two credit cards for expats in the Netherlands, figure by figure.

ICS MasterCard Classic is the stronger pick for most expats.

  • Travel insurance: Included vs Not included
ICS MasterCard Classic and N26 Mastercard compared. The better value in each row is marked.
Figure
Monthly fee€3.25/mo€0 (better)
Foreign transaction fee2.00%1.70% (better)
Card networkmastercardmastercard
Travel insuranceIncluded (better)Not included
Apple PaySupportedSupported
Card typeCharge cardDebit card
Minimum income€1,500 net a monthNot stated by the issuer
BKR checked when you applyYesNot stated
Card registered at BKRNoNot stated
Rate checkVerified 19 October 2026Not yet verified

Bold marks the better value in a row. Figures are checked daily against provider sources; each product page shows when its figures were last confirmed.

ICS MasterCard Classic

What we like

  • Lowest ICS annual fee
  • True credit card with credit line
  • Worldwide Mastercard acceptance
  • Purchase protection

What to consider

  • 2% foreign transaction fee
  • No rewards
  • Basic coverage only
  • Requires Dutch income proof

N26 Mastercard

What we like

  • No annual fee
  • No fees in eurozone
  • Excellent mobile app
  • Instant notifications
  • Free ATM withdrawals (limited)

What to consider

  • Debit card, not true credit
  • ATM withdrawal limits on free tier
  • 1.7% fee outside eurozone
  • No rewards program

Questions

Is ICS MasterCard Classic or N26 Mastercard better for expats in the Netherlands?
ICS MasterCard Classic is the stronger all-round pick for most expats. Travel insurance: Included vs Not included
Which card has lower fees abroad, ICS MasterCard Classic or N26 Mastercard?
N26 Mastercard is cheaper abroad, with a 1.70% foreign transaction fee.
Do ICS MasterCard Classic and N26 Mastercard check or register you at BKR?
ICS MasterCard Classic: BKR is checked when you apply; the card is not registered at BKR. N26 Mastercard: The issuer doesn’t say whether it checks BKR; it doesn’t say whether the card is registered.