Skip to content
Expat Money

ANWB Visa Classic vs N26 Mastercard

Two credit cards for expats in the Netherlands, figure by figure.

N26 Mastercard is the stronger pick for most expats.

  • Monthly fee: €0 vs €2.50/mo
  • Foreign transaction fee: 1.70% vs 2.00%
ANWB Visa Classic and N26 Mastercard compared. The better value in each row is marked.
Figure
Monthly fee€2.50/mo€0 (better)
Foreign transaction fee2.00%1.70% (better)
Card networkvisamastercard
Travel insuranceNot includedNot included
Apple PaySupportedSupported
Card typeCharge cardDebit card
Minimum income€1,500 net a month. From work or pension, plus ANWB membership.Not stated by the issuer
BKR checked when you applyYesNot stated
Card registered at BKRNoNot stated
Rate checkVerified 29 October 2026Not yet verified

Bold marks the better value in a row. Figures are checked daily against provider sources; each product page shows when its figures were last confirmed.

ANWB Visa Classic

What we like

  • 270-day purchase protection
  • Low annual fee for Visa
  • Apple Pay support
  • Fraud insurance included

What to consider

  • ANWB membership required
  • 2% foreign transaction fee
  • No rewards program
  • No Google Pay support

N26 Mastercard

What we like

  • No annual fee
  • No fees in eurozone
  • Excellent mobile app
  • Instant notifications
  • Free ATM withdrawals (limited)

What to consider

  • Debit card, not true credit
  • ATM withdrawal limits on free tier
  • 1.7% fee outside eurozone
  • No rewards program

Questions

Is ANWB Visa Classic or N26 Mastercard better for expats in the Netherlands?
N26 Mastercard is the stronger all-round pick for most expats. Monthly fee: €0 vs €2.50/mo
Which card has lower fees abroad, ANWB Visa Classic or N26 Mastercard?
N26 Mastercard is cheaper abroad, with a 1.70% foreign transaction fee.
Do ANWB Visa Classic and N26 Mastercard check or register you at BKR?
ANWB Visa Classic: BKR is checked when you apply; the card is not registered at BKR. N26 Mastercard: The issuer doesn’t say whether it checks BKR; it doesn’t say whether the card is registered.